With Huge Expectations Emmy Andujar

emmy

Name: Emmy Andujar
Position:  Forward
Height:  6’6″
Weight:  205
Year:  Junior
Hometown:  Bronx, N.Y.
High School:  Rice

Emmy Andujar played four years with Rice high school, where in 2011 CHSAA class AA championships game; he averaged 12.3 points, 7.8 rebounds and 3.9 assists. He  was named to the All-CHSAA Second Team and received CHSAA All-Tournament Team honors after scoring a game-high 28 points and 18 rebounds in the title contest against Christ the King. He was selected to the New York Daily News All-Manhattan Second Team.

Emmy Andujar chose the Jaspers of Manhattan to play college basketball and in his rookie year Emmy Andujar was named in the MAAC All-Rookie Team, he averaged 8.5 points, 5.7 rebounds and 3.2 assists per game.

Last year in his sophomore year he was named in the Preseason All-MAAC third team. He averaged 8.0 points, 5.0 rebounds and 2.4 assists per game. During his sophomore year Emmy had some strong games from the bench. He shared some words with Boricuas en el Basket.

(BEEB) 1. Who is Emmy Andujar and could you talk about your size, position, abilities and more?

(EA) I’m a 6’5 guard/forward who is able to play multiple positions and been working on my body frame a lot during the off season.

(BEEB) 2. When were your first steps in Basketball?
(EA) It was difficult because I started playing serious basketball at 9th grade and I felt I was behind in talent and that made me work harder.
(BEEB) 3. How Emmy Andujar became a basketball player of Jasper of Manhattan?
(EA) Before my commitment I knew a few players like Mike Alvarado and it felt like a family during my visit and my family could see me play.
(BEEB) 4. What can expect it from Emmy Andujar this year at Manhattan?
(EA) To always play hard and be the glue guy to the team lead the younger guys be more vocal also become a better player I was last year.
(BEEB) 5. You had a  great performance coming from the bench last season. Are you going come out from the bench this year?
(EA) It’s all on the coach decision and whatever it takes for us to win.
(BEEB) 6. How is your chemistry with the other Puerto Rican Michael Alvarado in the team of the Jaspers?
(EA) It’s great. I love my teammates. The way we look after one another. It’s just a family at Manhattan.
(BEEB) 7. What are the team expectations for this upcoming year in the MAAC and in the national tournament?
(EA) A lot of people expect a lot but what the staff expect is for us to be a final 4 team and MAAC champions.
(BEEB) 8. Where your puerto Rican roots come from? Are your parents or grandparents where born in Puerto Rico?
(EA) My mother and grandmother are Puerto Rican, my dad is Dominican.
(BEEB) 9. Have you ever represented Puerto Rico in an International Tournament? If the answer is yes, What has been your better performance?
(EA) I  have in high school when we went up to Dallas for a FIBA tournament. I performed well out there. I was very blessed for that opportunity.
(BEEB) 10. How was the experience in the Stankovic Cup?
(EA) It was a great experience playing with the older guys and being one of the youngest on the team to be apart of that team.
(BEEB) 11. What is your strongest skill in basketball? What skills you need to improve in basketball?
(EA) One of my strongest skill In basketball I say creating for others. One I need to improve on is shooting and defense.
(BEEB) 12. What has been your greatest Basketball achievement?
(EA) I have to say earning multiple college scholarships.
(BEEB) 13. What plans do you have in the future?
(EA) My plans are to become a professional basketball player.
(BEEB) 14. Do you have plans to play in the PR basketball Tournament (BSN) when you finish your college basketball career?
(EA) If the opportunity is available yes.
(BEEB) 15. Some words for the Boricuas En El Basket Fans?
(EA) I just want them to know that I’m true to my country and love the support and chances I get to be apart of something special.
Interview by: Jose Castro / https://twitter.com/castroj1pr
Stats:
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

