Kevin Young Morales looking forward to reaching the next level. (Exclusive Interview)

kevin Young MoralesName: Kevin Young Morales
Position: Foward
Height: 6’8″
Weight: 190 lbs
Year: Senior
College: Kansas
Hometown: Perris, CA

Kevin Young went to high school in Perris California, where he finished his senior year averaging 16.1 points, 10.8 rebounds and 3.7 blocks per game. That season ended with three triple doubles, 499 points, 335 rebounds, 66 assists and 59 steals. He was also named to the First-Team All Division III. Young started in college basketball with LMU, where he stablished several records such as 224 rebounds with an average of 7.2 rebounds per game, 34 blocks and 51 steals for a rookie. Then participated in the U19 World Championship with the Puerto Rican National Team. Puerto Rico left the tournament with a 5-4 record, their best game came against Lithuania,  Young Morales had 18 points, 12 rebounds and 5 steals. In his second season with LMU, he averaged 10.7 points, 5.3 rebounds and 1.1 steals per game.

Young Morales transferred to Kansas for his junior season. In his junior year at Kansas, he averaged 3.4 points, 3.0 rebounds and 0.5 steals per game. Also, He gradually gain the confidence of the coach and ended up being the 6th man on the team with a couple of double-digit games. In a interview before the season begun,  Bill Self was asked:  if Kevin Young would continue 6th man on the team and said: “Could it be? , I’m not going to tell you right now because I think he has done enough to start, no doubt. “This statement confirms that the starting power forward for Kansas is the Puerto Rican Kevin Young Morales. Not everyone is a started in a team of this magnitude, coach knows the potential of this talented Puerto Rican prospect. Currently in his senior year as a starter, he is averaging 7.3 points, 6.7 rebounds and 1.1 steal per game in 22.2 minutes per contest. Kevin Young shared some words with BEEB.

(BEEB) 1. Who is Kevin Young and could you talk about your size, position, abilities and more?
(KYM) Hahah i ask myself that same question and honestly I haven’t found a solid answer… On the court I just try to be What ever my team needs. A rebounder a defensive stopper a scorer it changes every night I’m smaller than most post players but I just try and put quick nod out think my match ups.
2. (BEEB) Why did you transfer from LMU to Kansas?
(KYM) I left LMU because I didn’t see eye to eye with the coaches on the court and off the court we are still very close and they wish the best for me As I wish them the best as well.

3. (BEEB) Why when you are open for the three point shot, you seem not to take the shot like you did in LMU?  Sometimes you seem a little timid on the ofensive side, why?

(KYM)I do not take as many shots as I did then because I’m playing a different role here. All the great teams had role players and if I want this Team to be a great team I have to buy into my role. I know that if I take the three then it takes away from Ben shooting the ball and he leads the conference in 3pt percentage.

4. (BEEB) How your exprience has been playing in the starting lineup of the JayHawks?

(KYM) It’s been a lot of fun I have enjoyed it so much.

5. (BEEB) How is your chemistry with Bill Self?

(KYM) Coach self is an amazing coach who understands how to get the best out of his players and we get along great he has really been patient With me because early in the year I was out with a broken hand and he understood how hard I continued to work

6. (BEEB) How do you feel to play with one of the best team in the nation?

(KY) It’s an honor to play the Jayhawks and this team we have something very special here.

7. (BEEB) What are your expectations for this season?

(KY) My expectations are to win a national title.

8.(BEEB) Have you play for Puerto Rico?

(KYM) I’ve played for the 19u national team and I tried out for the Olympic team this year but I was cut.

9. (BEEB) You had a big game against Lithuania, how was your experience with the Puerto Rican U19 National Team?

(KYM) It was great its just a different level of pride, playing for your country and all the people of the Puerto Rico.

10. (BEEB) What is your best skill in basketball?

(KYM) My best skill so far is going after the ball and giving my team extra opportunities to score

11. (BEEB) What skills you need to improve in basketball?

(KYM) I think I can improve on all my skills still I mean I’m not a lights out shooter or an incredible dribble yet so those would probably be the Ones I would say

12. (BEEB) What has been your greatest achievement in basketball?

(KYM) Being able to say I played in the national championship game and being able to play for the national team. I remember when I was younger Watching the Olympics I dreamed of being apart of something so special

13. (BEEB) Who is your favorite player in basketball?  Who is your favorite team?

 (KYM) I am a Tim Duncan fan because he plays the games with so many fundamentals and the spurs

 14. (BEEB) You where selected by Brujos de Guayama in the BSN Draft, are you going to play basketball in Puerto Rico this season?

(KY) I heard that! I am greatfull for the opportunity but I am going to try for the NBA draft after this season at kansas

15. (BEEB) In reality, what is your availability? Are you going to the Brujos de Guayama this season or you have other plans?

(KYM) I have other plans so I doubt that I would be playing for Guayama this season.

16.(BEEB) What plans?

(KYM)  NBA workouts

17.(BEEB) What do you want for your future?

(KYM) I want to be able to take care of my mother sister and little brother. I want to be a role model for my brother as well as all the kids out There watching me play

18 . (BEEB) Some words for the boricua en el basket fans?

(KYM) I just want to thank them for all the support and It means a lot to me that I do make them proud as well because I understand that every Time I put on a jersey i am not only representing myself but them as well

Interview by: Jose Castro / https://twitter.com/castroj1pr

  1. Excellent… Es una pena no poder disfrutar de ese talento en el BSN

    Me parece q el gran ganador del draft fue arecibo q consiguio a Peter John Ramos

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

